The Journey of 13.1 miles begins with a single step…

I am not, nor have I ever been a runner. I am a walker, and not the kind of walker you find in the show “The Walking Dead”.  I enjoy walks.  But I do not enjoy exercise.  So what in the world possessed me to agree to do a Half-Marathon?  Yes, 13.1 miles!  I must have lost my mind. 

 Or maybe, I happened to have my very words said back to me by someone I love.

This past weekend my husband, C, and I were having a discussion about next years Disney World Marathon weekend. C has run the marathon, the half-marathon, the Goofy Challenge (you run the half-marathon on Saturday and the full-marathon on Sunday), and he has run the Dopey challenge (running the 5k on Thursday, the 10k on Friday, the half-marathon on Saturday and the full-marathon on Sunday).  He is CRAZY!  And I admire his strength, determination and courage to run those races. 

The best part of running at Disneyworld, according to my husband, is running through the parks, early in the morning.  The best part of Marathon weekend at Disney World, according to me, is getting to play while my husband runs and being there to support him!  And that was what I was planning to do when we were discussing marathon weekend 2017.

And then those words I had said to him came back to haunt me…..”Isn’t this the year of living, taking the leap and leaving behind the fear? Isn’t this year about experiencing new things, despite your fear?”  Yes, it is.  And yes, I want to take the leap and just see where it goes and what happens.  And I told him that I could do that by walking the 5k and then supporting  him as he ran the half-marathon. 

And then he went in full force—“But you have done a 5k.  And what better way to spend your birthday weekend, your 52nd birthday weekend, than to do something that you have never done, something that scares you?”  Oh……he had me.  How could I argue with that? 

 Yes, I have lost my mind! And I am scared……what if I can’t finish?  What if I am too slow? What if I disappoint him, or my kids?  What if I disappoint myself?  That is a long way to go……and then he reminded me of the words I keep quoting from Oprah—“If not now, when?”

 If not now, when?

 Disney World will be a  great way to celebrate the end of this year, to celebrate turning 52. And what better way to take the leap than to be a participant, rather than a spectator.  This year really is about taking the leap, participating and experiencing all that life throws my way—the good, the bad, and the scary.

 The journey of 13.1 miles begins with a single step……the decision to do it!  Just Breathe!!

4 thoughts on “The Journey of 13.1 miles begins with a single step…”

Leave a Reply

