Don’t let my head get in the way of my heart

day 1

Today I began my training.  The Half-marathon is in one year which is plenty of time to train.  If only my head would get out of the way…..

My husband and I walked this morning.  2.6 miles is not a lot when compared to the 13.1 miles I am committed to doing next January.  And I have walked many miles over the years, enjoying some of those walks and dreading others.

Today I realized that I am letting my head get in the way.  I can come up with all kinds of excuses to get me out of this–it’s too cold…I am hungry….I am tired…it’s too cold…..I have a year, why do I need to go faster now?……I have a year, I can start next week (and next week will never come)…it’s too cold! 

And then it hit me as we walked and as I complained when my husband suggested that we speed up a little between the light poles, that my head gets in the way of a lot of things I want to do.  The little voice inside my head that says I CAN’T do this.  The voice that always said I would never accomplish anything…..I wasn’t worth it!  That voice still lives in my head and has been there since I was a little girl.  I have found ways through the years to quiet that voice, almost vanquishing it completely.  Today, that voice popped up and I listened, for a minute.  And then I went on.

My dad’s voice will no longer keep me from accomplishing the things I want to do in my life. 

The second step in the journey of 13.1 miles and more importantly, in the journey of living life this year and breathing, is to not let my head get in the way of my heart! 

I am going to do this and so much more this year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Don’t let my head get in the way of my heart”

  1. Terri, make sure that this is something you WANT to do and not just a hurtle you’ve put in front of yourself. “We” are proud of you no matter what you do! Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

