Believe

All week I have been talking in Weight Watcher meetings about Believing in ourselves and turning our negative thinking into positive thinking so that we can continue down the road toward what we are striving for. Believing in myself and my worth was key to my weight loss.  There are times when doubts creep in and the negatives become louder than the positive, but we learn the strategies to turn our thoughts around.  And sometimes we get a little reminder that we need to believe in ourselves, that we are worth it.

 Tonight I got one of those reminders.

I had had a rough day and came home from leading a meeting to find a package in my mailbox. I dumped everything on the counter, kicked off my heels and opened the package.  The package was from a very dear young lady who has been like a daughter to me and her little girl who is very much like my own grandchild….I was excited to open this unexpected gift. 

 Inside was a note congratulating me on my training for my half marathon and some very sweet words and inside the boxes were a chain and a charm to put on the chain….it said 13.1 on one side and fearless on the other side…..and my tears flowed….happy tears, amazed tears and tears of realization.

Every journey I have taken in my life has brought me some new insight into who I am and how the events of my life have affected me. And just when I think that I have learned it all, something happens, a new journey starts, a gift shows up in my mailbox and a new realization enters my realm. 

Until I received this precious gift I did not realize how much I needed to have someone believe in me—the kind of belief that comes out of the blue, unexpectedly. I also realized that I didn’t know how much I needed to believe in myself, how much I needed someone to believe in me all those years ago, when as a child or teen I wanted to step outside my box and try something new. 

In Weight Watchers meetings we talk about anchors, the tangible things or the imagined things that remind us why we are doing what we are doing, that remind us we can do it and help us to believe in ourselves. I had many anchors throughout my journey of losing weight and discovering “me” and now I have a new anchor to remind me to believe in me!

2 thoughts on “Believe”

  1. Last week’s WW meeting talked about thoughts, words, action, and outcome (or something close to that … my brain can be foggy sometimes). Anyway, I thought about you training for your half marathon and what my son told me before I started training for mine. He said as you run keep your chest up, be proud, you’re strong, you’re a marathon runner. As I was ran those 13.1 miles that day and when I started to tire out, I repeated those words over and over until I WAS running again with my chest out, being proud of what I’ve accomplished, being stronger for doing it, and running like a marathoner. I believe you will accomplish this too. When I met you at that first meeting, I liked you. I thought to myself, hey, we could be friends if we had met under other circumstances. That doesn’t happen often with me. Looking forward to your next writing.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

