Finding Adventure

Adventure can be found in the extraordinary and in the ordinary, it can be found in the day-to-day and in the once-in-a-lifetime. 

This week, where I work, we have been discussing “finding our adventures”, which has me focused now on just that and has me asking what “adventure” means and how to find it.

Most of my life I have felt that I am cautious….I am NOT a huge risk-taker and I am definetly not an adrenaline junky.  I have my fears and I often feel that those fears hold me back from adventures, maybe keeping me from the ultimate once-in-a-lifetime moment.  So, I found myself surprised at what I have discovered this week about adventures and how they fit into my life.

I have decided, for me, that adventure does not mean I have to jump out of an airplane, with only a parachute to keep me from death (really, I can’t think of any reason to jump out of a perfectly good airplane), it doesn’t mean that I have to ride the fastest and scariest rollercoasters (I did that at Universal Studios in Florida in 2004 and I am good for at least 20 years), it doesn’t mean that I have to take risks at every turn.

For me, adventure is in the every day happenings of my life and in the special occasions, it is found in my travels, on date’s with my husband, exploring places near my home, in my day-to-day life–work, chores, hobbies, and it is found when I slow down to live in the moment, cherishing all that I am blessed to have in my life. 

I realized this week that I find “adventure” every day, in one form or another.

Earlier this week, my husband and I went exploring, trying to find the wild horses that roam the Salt River near us.  We didn’t find them…..but we did find the unexpected beauty that made us smile and filled our souls……an adventure we enjoyed together without any fear for me.

And this past week I found a new (rather an old) activity that I have been enjoying….another adventure for me.  I rediscovered how much fun the hula hoop can be.  And yes, that is an adventure!

Adventure, for me, is discovering new things to do, new places to explore and returning to explore previously visited places.  It is enjoying the songs that the birds sing for me when I am out walking.  It is the found in conversations I have with strangers that I meet.  It is watching the sunset turn the sky fiery red.  It is reading a book that I cannot put down. 

Adventure to me is finding joy in the ordinary that life offers and the extraordinary, and sharing it all with my family and friends.

And sometimes, adventure means stepping outside my comfort zone, taking a chance, taking that leap of faith and seeing where it leads. 

Some of my greatest adventures come from just trusting, taking the leap and being grateful for all that God has blessed me with in this life.

Leave a Reply

