My BAM! Moment

I have heard many others say and I have said many times that Weight Watchers meetings are where the MAGIC happens! And I truly believe that meetings are magical! I have learned so much as a member and as a meeting Leader, from those who attend the meetings. And I have watched in awe as a member reaches that AHA moment during the meeting…..yes, meetings are where the MAGIC happens.

And that is part of why I still attend meetings as a member. I really feel that I am a member first and then an employee. And I still learn so much in my meetings……and THAT surprises me. I don’t why it should surprise me, but it does.

I was not able to attend my regular meeting the past two weeks because of life (yes, life happens) and when I miss my meeting my week seems off. So, I needed a meeting this past week.

2 days ago I walked into a meeting as a member. And I am so glad I did! It was EXACTLY what I needed in order to have that realization moment….that AHA!

Life has been emotional, difficult more often than not lately, stressful, frightening…..and when life throws those curveballs at me, my response is to find a way to escape, just for a moment where I can breathe. My escape is sometimes, though not most often, in the form of my last blog post—Make Your Heart Feel Good Day—but mostly that escape is in the form of mindless television, food, writing, and games on my kindle.

So, there I was in my meeting, listening to the leader and the members talk about fitness/activity…..ugh…..not my favorite subject, though I know I HAVE to do it! There it was……another chore…..the way I view fitness and approach fitness…….a chore. And ANY excuse will get me to put off getting my exercise.

So, I listened and then a gentleman talked……and he shared how he had to change his mindset about fitness. I was really listening……you know, the kind of listening where you lean forward to REALLY hear what is being said…..He shared that he had to start thinking about fitness the way he does work……we don’t get up one morning and decide that we just don’t feel like going to work today, so we are going to stay home, or suddenly in the middle of the day decide that we are too tired to work anymore and go home to veg……We can’t just put off work for ANY excuse or just because we feel like it, so he decided that was how he needed to think of fitness……as a job that he couldn’t just put aside for ANY excuse.

BAM! Hit me upside the head!

Yes, I needed to change the way I think about fitness.

And on my drive home, I did just that. By the time I reached home I knew what was going on and how I needed to change it.

My half-marathon training took a turn when I hurt my back and of course, THAT becomes an excuse to NOT go out for a walk/run. And like I said earlier, life has been difficult…..it is still a rollercoaster of emotions and events and the LAST thing I want to do is add another CHORE to my day, my week or my life……I am TIRED! I just want those small moments to escape……..and that is what fitness can be and is……..On the drive home I realized that fitness, my walks and runs for training for the half-marathon can be my escape. My time walking and running can be ME time…..time to pray, to converse with GOD, to talk to myself, to think, to plan, to contemplate and to just escape with my music and myself.

So, two days ago my mindset about fitness and my training was that it was a CHORE and after the meeting my mindset shifted and I now look forward to my time walking and even running…….it is my escape from reality!!

I am excited and ready to do this half-marathon!

Weight Watchers meetings really are magical!!

2 thoughts on “My BAM! Moment”

  1. Good to hear you’re still training for half marathon!!! My son completed his second half Ironman today and beat his time from his first one by an hour! I thought about you on whether you were sticking to your schedule which is sooooo important if you want to finish. Good for you!!

    I have something for you. Where can I mail it?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

