Aviation Nation

It has been a while since I have spent time on an Air Force base……early last summer when I attended a friends Change of Command Ceremony was the last time I was on a base and it was only for a couple of hours.

And it has been even longer since I have gone to an Airshow…….5 years, actually.

So, when my husband asked if I would be the female chaperone for a weekend field trip to Nellis AFB, in Las Vegas, I said yes!

We took the top 5 seniors, who were in the top leadership positions in the JROTC program that my husband teaches at a local high school, to Aviation Nation. It was a quick trip, just for the Airshow……a long drive to Las Vegas on Saturday, a long day at the Airshow on Sunday, followed by a long drive home Sunday night.

I was excited. I love Airshows. I love the roar of engines. And I have missed hearing, feeling and seeing these magnificent jets fly.

I had a great time and enjoyed spending the weekend with a group of teenagers and my husband.

I have often been told that I can be just a “big kid” filled with excitement and anticipation. And I felt like a big kid as we walked onto the flight line, seeing all of the jets parked there for us to view. Ahhhh, yes, this felt like home and made my heart and soul dance.

And then I got to experience this day through the eyes of five teens…..the excitement, curiosity and joy these five teens exuded, grabbed me and pulled me in. It was thrilling to see the jets, some new to me and many I had spent years around, through their eyes.

It was a thrilling, feel good heart, kind of weekend.

I can’t wait to go again next year with another group of teenagers!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

