A long ago dream fulfilled

Weddings—a wonderful, joyous celebration of love.

Every little girl dreams about her wedding and what she will wear.

Every mother dreams about the wedding of her children and yes, the dress shopping with her daughter.

1

But, I am a mom of boys and I gave up the dream of wedding dress shopping after the birth of my two boys.

That is until a couple of months ago….until this month…..this past weekend to be exact.

My youngest son is getting married. And I am thrilled!

He has found the perfect person for him. His fiancé, my soon-to-be daughter-in-law, is everything I ever imagined for my son and so much more. I knew the day he brought her home to meet us that she was THE ONE. She is such a joy to be around and fits in with our crazy family.

Seeing the two of them together—planning and living their lives, and loving each other, fills this mothers heart with so much joy.

A couple of months ago, they called me and my sweet soon-to-be daughter-in-law invited me to go wedding dress shopping with her and her family members.

And the dream was back…..that long ago dream I had let go of…….I cried. I was overwhelmed with feelings of love.

Of course, I would go!

And it was a WONDERFUL day!

This mom was filled with all kinds of emotions as I watched the woman my son would soon marry, the woman who has stolen his heart, the woman who is his adventure partner and the love of his life, try on wedding dresses.

She was stunning! She found her dress!

And as I stood there watching, it hit me……my baby is getting married! My baby boy is no longer just my baby……he will soon be a husband and one day a father.

I am so proud of my son. I am so proud of the two of them. And I am looking forward to seeing what the future holds for these two……..

Today, I am so thankful and feel so blessed that my son has found such a wonderful, caring person to spend the rest of his life with.

As a mom of boys, I could not be happier to be gaining a daughter!

And my heart is filled with love!

This mom of boys realized a dream that had long been let go of……..and now is fulfilled!

1 thought on “A long ago dream fulfilled”

Leave a Reply

